Sandy, the “perfect” companion for baking.

It’s been quiet around here for a while. I’ve still been cooking and baking and experimenting, however, life has also happened and my job and personal life became extremely busy. I’ll get around to sharing these updates with you eventually, in the meantime I wanted to briefly touch upon the latest happenings here in New York.

You must have been living under a rock if you haven’t heard about Sandy, one of the worst hurricanes to ever hit New York. I took all necessary precautions and so did my friends. I’m happy to say that we were all lucky and remain unharmed. A few are without power, but no one is hurt or in immediate danger. The aftermath of Sandy is devastating and upsetting. Not just the deaths and the destruction, the power outages, the flooding, but the sheer despair of this whole situation. For anybody reading this, I hope you and your loved ones were safe, are safe and continue being so.

The office was closed on Monday and today because it was obviously dangerous to be outside. I’ve been able to work from my kitchen table on Monday without any problems – I was lucky that my power and internet stayed on the entire time. It wasn’t until today that I had immense problems connecting and eventually gave up trying in the late afternoon. Then I baked Pumpkin Streusel Muffins instead. I love the fall, I love pumpkin, I love muffins and I love baking. Perfect recipe for a day trapped inside, isn’t it?

Pumpkin Streusel Muffins

Perfect combination: fall, baking, pumpkin, delicious!Pumpkin Streusel Muffins 2Only made even better with tea.Pumpkin Streusel Muffins 3Still learning how to use the camera – tried to venture away from the automatic settings and into manual settings for the first time. These were shot with relatively high ISO in an attempt to work against the low light setting in my kitchen and to take away some of the orange hue – that I then later fixed in Photoshop. High ISO = high noise. Lesson learned.

I’m actually very much looking forward to heading out to the office tomorrow. Two days of being trapped inside has done enough damage to my waistline. ;o)

Leave a Reply

