Sometimes you gotta smile and nod

I try to attend a CrossFit class three times a week to complement my running. I started CrossFitting in December 2013 and apart from returning to Germany for a job, it’s been the one most impactful thing in my life within the last couple of months. I’ve gained immense strength and I constantly surprise myself with all the things I never thought I could do.

One thing that I love about CrossFit is how it’s constantly varied and that no class is the same. This morning’s class consisted of a 4-people-each-team workout of 5 minutes AMRAP (as many rounds as possible) of 15s battle ropes, 100m skierg and 25m “Helga”. [As a group, you stay at each station for 5 minutes and switch person after the given times, i. e. person 1 does battle ropes for 15 seconds, then person 2 for 15 seconds, then 3, then 4, then 1 again, etc. Repeat until 5 minutes are up, followed by 2:30 minutes rest, then move on to the Skierg where each person does 100m, again until the total of 5 minutes is up].

“Helga” is my local box’s name for the sled:

Rogue Butcher Sled

(c) Rogue Fitness. Rogue Butcher Sled

I have no idea why they’ve nicknamed her Helga, but let me tell you, she’s a beast. And she could use some dieting advice. This morning she weighed a respectable 125 kgs (276 lbs) – sled + extra weight. I struggled a great deal to push her 25 meters and when I barely got her moving, our coach Jess gave me a sympathetic look and said, “This is mean. You don’t even weigh half of that weight.” This is where I smiled, nodded and decided to keep quiet. Because in fact, I currently do weigh more than half of Helga’s weight. I weighed 67 kg this morning. 5 kg more than I want to weigh. But Jess commenting on my weight and indirectly saying that she thinks I weighed less than 62.5 kg (my goal weight) made me so happy.

At the end of the day, this is exactly why I love CrossFit. It’s made me stronger and slimmer. I’m currently wearing clothes that last fit this well when I weighed 3 or 4 kilos less. This morning was a nice reminder that it’s not about what your scale says, but about what your body can do. And since I’m body-positive today, you get a bonus selfie:

Elevator selfie

Elevator selfie

One thought on “Sometimes you gotta smile and nod

  1. Pingback: Gratitude. Or call it Body Peace. | 3ckfoodie

Leave a Reply

