Of Kings and Queens

Last Saturday one of our coaches at CrossFit eo, Jess, organized a small competition for members. The goal? To find the King and Queen at our box.

The requirements for participating were fairly doable. Everybody could join if they were able to complete some basic moves at either the CrossFit or the Competition level.  I really liked how inclusive the event was. In the end, we were 14 competing athletes: 8 at CrossFit level (myself included) and 6 at the higher Competition level. Each level was split into two groups that would do the workouts one after the other. People from the other levels and some coaches served as judges, so that no athlete you were directly competing against would count your reps or take your time. We went through the moves, and the expected standards, warmed up and then off we were.

I was in the first group and my first workout was: 3 rounds for time consisting of 50 singles, 10 burpees, 20 lunges (10 per leg), 5 hand release push-ups. I don’t know my exact time, but by the time I stopped my Garmin watch to take the time, it was 6:54. I think I finished quite a bit before that. I had issues finding a rhythm at jump roping that day (something I usually don’t have!) and the lunges were super slow because I still felt the previous day’s workout in my hamstrings. However, after the workout, I felt fairly good. Gross and sweaty and like I just worked out, but not totally destroyed.

Post workout one. All good still. Maybe a little too good.

WOD 1 for the competition group consisted of 6 rounds of several movements, including such nastiness as pull-ups and toes to bar.

The general reaction was this.

 

Our second workout started with a 250m row, followed by 15 sit-ups, 15 box jumps/step ups, 15 sit-ups and a final 250m row. I’m generally pretty awful at rowing and couldn’t find a good rhythm. I also did step ups instead of sucking it up and jumping onto that box. I was a little annoyed by my performance at the end of this workout. My official time was 4:12.

Second group of the CrossFitters rowing.

The second workout for the competition group was 6 mins (3 attempts) to find their 1 rep max. snatch. The competition group only consisted of guys and it was inspiring to see them throw around so much weight and make a complex movement like the snatch look so easy.

Getting ready to get snatched.

Easy.

After the first the first two rounds, total scores were calculated to determine who’d move on to the finals and fight for the crown. And this is where I was really pissed. I drew (points-wise) with another girl, but because she had the better time overall, she moved to the finals. And I missed. I was really embarrassed and felt truly defeated. I know I wasn’t competing with Annie for the CrossFit crown, but I still was angry that I’d missed the final. Being 6th out of 8 is not a great result. I was annoyed that my judge hadn’t been monitoring my time carefully, which likely added a few seconds to my total score. Seconds I could’ve used. It would be easy to blame somebody else. But fact is, I was mostly I angry at myself because I could have pushed harder. I should’ve pushed harder. I wasn’t feeling great that day, in fact, I’ve been struggling the entire week, but instead of channeling that energy and using it to power through the WODs, I let it get the best of me. And I paid the price.

CrossFit finalists start if off with a run.

Set-up for the competition group.

Thrusters

DONE!

I was really grumpy afterwards, out of anger at myself. I gained a whole lot of respect for professional athletes who have to perform, regardless of whether they have a good or bad day. I had a bad day and apart from being disappointed and angry, nothing happened. I’m not in danger of being eliminated from the most important competition of the year, or in danger from being kicked off a squad and or in danger of losing any kind of sponsorship deals because somebody’s unhappy with my performance. I had a bad that. And that’s it. For professional athletes, it’s not “just a bad day”.

Proud coaches during award ceremony

CrossFit winners.

Competition winners

We sat together after the competition to fire up the grill and after being grumpy some more, I finally pulled myself together and had fun.

My big take away from the event is that I a) need to improve my rowing and b) need to learn better how to push myself to and past the moment of discomfort. I was never really truly uncomfortable during the competition and then bam, chance gone. I know I will do better next time.

Leave a Reply

