Munich. An anniversary of sorts

Yesterday, one year ago, I moved to Munich.

After nearly 2.5 years of having called New York City my home, I decided it was time for me to move back to my home country. I found a job and fought for being allowed to work from Munich and not Frankfurt, where the company’s HQs are. I had never in my life lived in Munich, but my gut feeling told me that it would be the perfect place for me. That it would be the right place to be for the person I had become.

And I was right.

I look back very fondly over this past year. I’ve had my fair shares of downs, a really rough summer, but looking at an even larger share of ups, it all doesn’t seem to matter much.

In CrossFit, I found a wonderful community that welcomed me with open arms, I’ve made new friends, learned plenty of new things and improved immensely as an athlete. I’ve made a wonderful apartment my home. I also feel like I’m finally making good progress in dealing with my eating disorder and my depression, I’m on the right track to becoming a healthier person all around.

Munich is a beautiful city and I think the peace and quiet I’ve found here have contributed majorly to my improved well-being. There’s something incredibly relaxing at having the Alps just around the corner with their beautiful mountains and lakes. The city itself is green and clean and offers all the parks, rivers, cafés, museums, historic buildings and everything you need. I have everything I need, so I whole-heartedly can say that I don’t miss New York City at all. I don’t miss people being rude, I don’t miss the millions of people, the tourists, the bad smells, the elbow mentality, the hectic, concrete wherever you look, the noise. I do miss my friends in the city – though some of them have moved on too.

I’ve rediscovered my passion for my job (most of the time) and am excited about the changes for the upcoming year.

I was meeting with my best friend from childhood the other day. I visited my parents and made the trip to where she lives and as we spent the day together, I realized how much I missed being close to her. How much I’d missed being close to my family and my home country.

Looking back, the time in New York City was spectacular and I’m grateful I’ve got to experience living and working there for 2.5 years. It’s an experience I wouldn’t want to miss. But I’m also grateful it’s over. Moving to Munich was the right thing to do.

Munich Marienplatz

One thought on “Munich. An anniversary of sorts

  1. Pingback: 2014 – a year in review | 3ckfoodie

Leave a Reply

