Paleo – Day 7 – recap

Current stats

Weight: XX.X kg (+0.1kg since last weigh in / -3.2kg total)

No other measurements taken

General well-being

Sleep: a little over 8 hours a day. Woke up before my alarm and got out of bed very easily, despite sleeping poorly the night before

Binging: woke up twice and ate both times. 😦 I had such unrestful sleep. I wonder whether it has anything to do with the moon? It even took me a long time to fall asleep, which is unusual for me

Skin: good today

Today

Breakfast: green smoothie (apple, kiwi, spinach, ginger)

Lunch: Carrot-pumpkin purée, a side of spinach and salmon filet – I had to run errands around noon, so I ate lunch late. This wasn’t what I originally had planned on eating, but it was fast and delicious. Stunned for how long the smoothie kept me satisfied

Dinner: raw vegetables (tomato, cucumber, kohlrabi & mushrooms), smoked trout. I was still hungry and had eaten very few calories that day, so I ate another half an avocado and some prosciutto and then a raw bite nut & fruit bar

Drinks: 4 glasses of tea + ca. 1.2 liters of water

Feeling: Today was great. Despite getting bad sleep, I felt energized throughout the day. I only craved coffee once.

Workout

Biking: 32.3 km

CrossFit

Theory: 5×5 shoulder press – I hadn’t done shoulder press in 3 months and given how new I’m still at CrossFit, I was confident I could squeeze out a PR today. I started with a higher weight than last time I did 5×5 and worked my way up in 2.5 kg increments. I did: 22.5kg, 25kg, 27.5 kg. 27.5 kg was my old PR and I was starting to struggle just a little bit. I went up by 1 kg to 28.5kg and ended up doing this weight twice (second to last and last set). I was hoping I could attempt the 30 kg today, but it shouldn’t. It’s still a PR and I’m happy about that. {in between sets: 10 reverse sit-ups}

WOD: For time 21 – 15 – 9 goblet squats (16 kg kettlebell), box jumps (20”), push-ups – my time was 7:01. I’m quite happy with my time, I did everything but the push-ups unbroken, even the box jumps (which were brutal right after the squats). I had to do the push-ups against a box since I’m not strong enough for that volume on the floor. Overall, I felt like I had good energy and performed well today.

Further thoughts on Paleo Week 1

  • Turns out that Paleo was fairly easy so far. Sure, my challenges were few in between; I only went for dinner once and cooked all other meals at home, but even eating out once left me with plenty of options
  • My cravings weren’t as bad as I feared. What I missed most was coffee, something I’ll be happy to reintroduce after the 30 days. I thought I’d have big cravings for sugar or simple carbs, but none of that actually happened
  • My energy levels were mostly good, except for a day or two; both during the regular day and during my CrossFit workouts.
  • I yet have to see improved sleep
  • I’m happy with my weight loss. I’m aware that a lot of the 3.2 kg is water weight and that I’d gain some of it back very quickly if I ate simple carbs again, but since Paleo has actually kept me satisfied with less food, I’ve been eating at a calorie deficit the entire week. So I’m assuming there’s a little bit of fat loss in there too. I’m feeling pretty great after one week
Leave a Reply

