Paleo – Day 9 – recap

Current stats

Weight: XX.Xkg (+0.5kg since last weigh in / -2.7kg total)

No other measurements taken

General well-being

Sleep: ca. 7 hours, no trouble falling asleep and getting up

Binging: woke up twice and ate. Both binges were kinda bad, which is what I think triggered the slight weight gain. I started having big food cravings post-dinner yesterday, so I had a snack that I didn’t need and that only caused more cravings. I ate a lot of fat and sugar throughout the night (nuts and dried fruit). While I also had binged the nights before, the previous hadn’t been quite as bad. I think last night was triggered by irregular blood sugar and whacky insulin levels (thanks to the doctor’s appointment yesterday and then my poor choices post-dinner). I’m not mad or disappointed, but I’m finding it interesting how my body seems to be reacting differently to plain sugar already.

Skin: Actually pretty good

Today

Breakfast: half a baked avocado, 2 eggs and a roasted bell pepper – a little bigger breakfast than usual, but I felt like a little more today.

Lunch: Zucchini spaghetti with bolognese sauce – finally cooked what I’d been meaning to cook for a couple of days. From-scratch bolognese sauce. The zucchini spaghetti were quick and easy once I had figured out my mandoline slicer. This was really delicious and filling. I didn’t miss regular pasta one bit and zucchini spaghetti are a nice way to sneak in two extra servings of veggies

Dinner: Raw veggies (tomato, cucumber, peppers, celery), smoked char and prosciutto – this left me feeling quite hungry, despite a good serving of vegetables (and then some more veggies after the first serving). CrossFit was intense today, so I’ve treated myself to a raw bite nut & fruit bar

Drinks: ca. 2.5 liters of tea and water – I really missed coffee today

Feeling: Good. Energized. I was fighting coffee cravings in the afternoon and the desire for something sweet. But I stayed strong. Generally felt more satisfied throughout the day. Nothing like the crazy starving like yesterday. Yay, consistent insulin.

Workout

Biking: 21 km

CrossFit

Several small WODs:

  1. For Time: 5 rounds of 10 deck squats + 10 kettlebell swings (16 kg) – managed to finish second, only one KB swing behind in 5:01. My deck squats have seen some major improvement since I last did them. Made my day.
  2. 5 minutes rest, then Tabata handstand hold. – My eternal struggle. I can’t kick up to a handstand. There’s only a few inches missing on my second leg, but something blocks me. Once my coach helped me up, I could hold it just fine.
  3. 5 minutes rest, For time: 5 rounds of 10 push-ups + 10 reverse sit-ups – first time doing the push-ups on the floor in this large volume. We practice push-ups during warm-up every day and I can complete the 10 required on the floor just fine. But in the past, whenever we did workouts with larger quantities of push-ups, I’d do them against the bench. Today, time didn’t matter as much, so I did them on the floor. And did not die. 😀 (I did drop a handful toward the end on my knees, but still, I got a whole heaping bunch on the floor.)
  4. Partner-WOD: 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 Goblet squat with 16kg KB

I felt fantastic during today’s class. 😀

Leave a Reply

