Paleo – Days 20 – 22 – recap (final traveling edition)

The last three days have been spent mostly on the road, so here, have a shortened paleo recap for these days:

Day 20 (Tuesday)

Current stats

No measurements taken

General well-being

Sleep: I can’t remember how much we slept, but I think it was less than 8 hours. We had to get up early that day because we were leaving Monterey to head to LA. I remember waking up easily and even before my alarm went off, like I tend to do when traveling

Binging: none

Skin: great

Food

Breakfast/Lunch: Leftover steak, vegetables and salad. Some fruit – we had some leftovers to finish and then packed up the rest for on the road. The train ride to LA was going to be long (9 hours) and during that, I kept snacking constantly. I don’t generally do that and I hate that I fell into this pattern. I trained myself to eat three times a day, sometimes four if I need an additional snack and leave it to that. On a day like Tuesday, when I have no set meal times, I somehow miss the memo of being full and grossly overeat. I ended up eating hard boiled eggs I had brought, carrots, tomatoes, peppers, a fruit/nut bar, apples, some chocolate. Combine that with sitting all day and you have nothing to be proud of.

Dinner: After we made it to LA, we had dinner at Unami Burger. I allowed myself to splurge again by picking at the sweet potato fries (so not paleo) and getting the burger I wanted (it had a coffee molasses drizzle and mascarpone on it). I did skip the bun. And to get a few more vitamins in, I ordered a beet salad (including ricotta).

Drinks: about 3 liters of water and tea

Feeling: Despite getting up early and sitting all day, I was surprisingly awake. In fact, I couldn’t fall asleep at night because I was so awake. The fried/non-paleo foods at dinner did not make me feel as awful as I expected them to.

Workout

Rest day

Day 21 (Wednesday)

Current stats

No measurements taken

General well-being

Sleep: almost none. I’m not sure whether it was too much leftover energy from the day before, the loud hostel, the travel jitters or possibly a combination of all. We had another early start. If I slept 2 hours, then that’s actually a ton

Binging: none

Skin: still great

Food

Breakfast: a banana + half an orange – we flew out yesterday and had to grab a quick and early breakfast at the hostel in LA. They offered mostly carbs (bread and pancakes that smelled heavenly), so fruit it was for me

Snack: fruit-nut bar at the airport while waiting to drop my friend off

Lunch: After I’d dropped her off, I checked my bag and then went through security and found myself a spot to have lunch. I had plenty of time, so I could really scoop the terminal and find the best option for me. I was tempted to get something from Unami again, but eventually settled for a late breakfast at a Farmer’s Market kind of place. Two eggs with bacon and tomato, then a side of curried cauliflower and roasted beets. Originally, I had bought the cauliflower and beets as a fallback for on the plane, in case I needed to leave most of my meal again, but I was so hungry at lunch, that I ended up eating the sides and then simply got something else (crudités). Which then, in turn, I didn’t even eat.

Snack: Banana

Dinner on the plane: Salmon with vegetables, fruit salad, later another fruit/nut bar. There came also potatoes with my meal, which I left on the plate. And the rice cracker. Overall, I was surprised by how much I could eat of this meal.

Drinks: ca. 2.5 liters of water and tea

Feeling: a little puffy and bloated, but generally good. Exhausted after not having slept much the night before.

Workout

None

Day 22 (Thursday)

Current stats

No measurements taken

General well-being

Sleep: little. Possibly a total of 4 hours on the plane or so. I dozed a lot, but I didn’t get much quality sleep.

Binging: none

Skin: good, all things considering. Usually, flying gives me plenty of outbreaks. This time I only had one little spot.

Food

Breakfast (still on the plane): omelette with ratatouille and a fruit salad – yay, I could eat almost my entire meal. I only left the rice cracker.

Lunch: Beef jerky – I got home around 3 PM, had the jerky and then headed right back out to run some errands before I sat on the couch. I knew I wouldn’t be able to get back up. 😉

Dinner: Crudités and smoked salmon. An apple. A fruit/nut bar

Drinks: probably too little today. About 2 liters, maybe?

Feeling: exhausted after traveling/waiting at airports for 23 hours. Overall, I’m very happy with my food intake today. I’m getting right back onto track with a little stricter paleo again, now that the vacation is over. Once I got home, I had a super strong coffee craving. I can’t wait to reintroduce that next week.

Workout

None

Travel recap

Traveling when following a paleo diet was a lot easier than I thought it would be.

  • The only time I ever felt really limited were the breakfasts at the hostels that were mostly just wheat-kind-of-things.
  • Eating at restaurants was actually not as much of a threat as I feared. Turns out, restaurants are more than happy to accommodate your special needs. You just have to ask. [The burger places all offered bun-less options, the Mediterranean places had nice meat dishes and were happy to serve me more veggies or salad instead of rice, when asked.] So don’t be afraid to speak up.
  • Coffee cravings were a real issue. Mostly for the habit of sitting down to enjoy a nice cup
  • I didn’t manage the on-the-go situation during the day that well. In the future, I’ll have to come up with a different strategy that will not so heavily rely on fruit/nut bars. They did make me feel a bit uncomfortable at one point.
  • It’s ok to live a little. I didn’t eat super, super strict but throve to make the best choices I could at every meal. I’m incredibly pleased with how I managed the last 10 days

The scale will tell tomorrow, how it all relates to the numbers. Now I need all the sleep. Zzzz…

  • Paleo kept me strangely energized despite probably walking about 10k every day
Leave a Reply

