Paleo – Day 24 – recap

Current stats

No measurements taken

General well-being

Sleep: I’m still feeling the after effects of the jet lag and had issues falling and staying asleep last night. As a result, I massively overslept this morning. Meh. I ended up getting about 8 hours of sleep

Binging: Woke up twice and ate. For real?! I ended up eating at maintenance calories yesterday. I’d been feeling hungry all throughout the day, which might’ve been hormonal. Maybe I just ate too little during the day. Ah, well.

Skin: great. I’m surprised that the usual outbreaks I get from traveling never came.

Today

Breakfast: green smoothie (spinach, kiwi, apple and ginger) – Since I woke up late, this was the perfectly sized breakfast today

Lunch: Leftovers from yesterday: roasted carrots, celeriac root purée and grilled turkey breast – still a little hungry afterward. At this point, I’m thinking my increased appetite is due to hormones. Go away.

Afternoon treat: some dark chocolate – it’s definitely hormones right now. 😦

Dinner: Bun-less beef burger with salad – I went out with CrossFit friends, post-workout. This wasn’t strictly paleo since there was some cheese on it and some kind of burger sauce that I bet had a bit of sugar in it. But overall, this was a good choice. I also stayed strong and said no to the booze.

Workout

I was finally back to working out today, taking the weekly OLy class at CrossFit. We focused on Overhead Squats (where I’m awful at). We pay attention to technique during the OLy classes, so you keep the weight low. I think toward the end, I did fairly well. We also practiced the Snatch Balance, something I had never done before. I was struggling a bit with this since it was a new, scary movement.

Extra credit: some of us stayed a little late to do another workout.

Baseline: 500m row, 40 air squats, 30 sit-ups, 20 push-ups, 10 pull-ups; my time 6:10.

Leave a Reply

